Can we continue our away form tomorrow?

Tomorrow, me and around 450 other Coventry City fans travel to Priestfield Stadium, home of Gillingham FC. Last season’s trip was full of excitement; six goals, four penalties and a red card… It was just a shame that the red card and four of those goals went against us! oh, and I forgot to mention the 3 hour journey back – not nice after a loss!

I go in to tomorrow’s game with a sense of uncertainty, I really don’t know what to expect. Our away form of late has picked up considerably (after we couldn’t buy three points on the road for the first part of the season), but after Monday’s shambolic performance we know it will go one way or another…

An injury list consisting of Reda Johnson (again), Danny Pugh, Aaron Phillips and Marcus Tudgay (doubt); along with Jim O’Brien possibly missing the game due to expecting his first child, Pressley is undoubtedly left short-changed. But this is where I want him to prove his worth, to get the three points because let’s face it, this is a real six pointer as we are placed precariously above the drop zone while the Gills are sat in 21st position. A win for the Sky Blues could potentially leave us in mid-table come 5pm, whereas a loss or draw would see us sucked right in to the dogfight.

Despite the financial situation at the club, I fully believe we should be much higher in the league standings and with Pressley insisting this seasons squad is better than last terms (I’m not sure), it’s about time he started getting the best out of the players and proved his point to us suffering fans. I’ve been an admirer of Pressley’s passion and desire since he moved south of the border almost two years ago, but every passing game I begin to question his tactics and philosophy more and more. It’s begun to frustrate me a little that he still bangs on about the “high press” and the “application of the group” after a defeat, especially as we can’t see this from the stands. Let’s just hope Monday’s lesson has taught us a few things and has sparked the players on to a good set of results, which we desperately need as inconsistency has been the story of our season so far. I still fondly believe a few of wins on the bounce will restore confidence, give fans hope and give people faith in Pressley again.

Anyway, let’s hope for a reaction from our players tomorrow and three points on the road. If the game is anywhere near as exciting as last season then it’s sure to be a cracker, but I couldn’t care how we pick up a result tomorrow, that’s all that matters – an own goal off the defenders arse will do me! If I had to predict the scoreline my head would say 1-1, but my heart says 2-1 to the Sky Blues.

PUSB

Leave a Reply

