Gillingham 3 Sky Blues 1

Well, where do I start after that… Another awful performance against a side who are struggling doesn’t give us much hope does it! The first half was an average display but we went in 1-0 up at the break courtesy of a Gary Madine penalty, surely we would build on that?

No…what happened in the second half was truly depressing, the way we play is slowly sucking all enthusiasm and optimism out of me! I will still go to every game (after all, I am mad!), but I never travel expecting a result anymore. It’s depressing. As we did at Walsall a few weeks ago, we just sat deep and ‘parked the bus’ in attempt to hold on to the one goal advantage…it backfired!

The warning signs were there at Walsall, with them hitting the post and coming close on a number of occasions, on another day they would of beat us! And that’s what happened today, apart from the fact that the Gills did take their chances and did beat us… There was only one team who looked like scoring in that second period! I just think that we played right in to the home side’s hands, letting them control possession and get forward at will, it was inevitable an equaliser would come, and after that there was only one team who was going to win the game.

Fair enough their penalty was never a penalty, but we can’t use that as an excuse for how lacklustre our own performance was…I’m getting fed up with travelling hundreds of miles to watch a performance with no passion, no desire and what seems to be, no effort! I wouldn’t mind losing the odd game if we’d played well, it’s part and parcel of football, but when we go down without a whimper it grates me… That’s another huge worry for me, now we have been thrown right in to the mix at the wrong end of the table, have we got enough bottle to get ourselves out of this situation? I’m not so sure!

I just think a change is needed and quickly. Yes we’d love to be owned by billionaires who splash cash on quality players, but it’s not going to happen. The reality is we are in league one, and at the troubled end of it despite in my opinion, having a squad that’s capable of much more. Pressley has to go now I believe, we need a new face in the dressing room to mix things up, an experience ‘wheeler dealer’ with a record of keeping teams up wouldn’t go a miss.image

I just don’t know what to say, it’s hard to see a way forward to our once proud club! We are being dragged deeper and deeper in to the abyss and I’m just praying we come out of the other side…

PUSB

One Comment Add yours

  1. Dave.richards says:

    Completely agree. I’ve been going since 1970 but I cannot bear to go to the embarrassment, heartbreak and utter rubbish that has become of my/our Sky Blues anymore.

Leave a Reply

