Mowbray wields the axe as 8 Sky Blues players face the chop…

Supporters had been eagerly anticipating the release of the retain list, along with Mowbray’s appointment of course, and they both came in quick succession. With the gaffer’s deal being announced on Monday night, the list of who would be departing the club was made public at 9am the next day. After a fairly miserable campaign, the Sky Blues fans were anticipating a bit of a clear out and these expectations came to fruition as eight players were told they no longer had a future at Coventry.

Mogga had reiterated his desire to play a certain brand of football, and maybe the players who were to be let go just didn’t fit the bill. He also questioned the mentality of a few in the squad after the home defeat to Crewe in the penultimate league fixture, so maybe the ones he’s given the chop were the ones he was speaking about? Who knows, but all we discovered is that Danny Pugh, Andy Webster, Adam Barton, Al Bangura, Simeon Jackson, Shaun Miller, Frank Nouble and Blair Turgott have no future at the club…

Here is my view on whether I agree with Mowbray:


Danny Pugh

I said I would release Pugh also, and I believe Mowbray has made the correct decision. With Chris Stokes coming in and doing well during his loan spell (which we are looking to make permanent), I don’t think Pugh would’ve forced a way in to the side anyway. We also have young Ryan Haynes in that left-back position and us Sky Blues fans know the potential he possesses so he would also be ahead of the former Manchester United player.

Clearly we never got to see Pugh perform to his full extent due to injury which cut short a nightmare season, in which he made only 7 appearances. He did show some qualities but he looked like a player who was past his best, and with Pressley unsure of the system he wanted to play at that point, the defender wasn’t allowed to feel settled in a specific role prior to his injury. There’s no doubt that Danny Pugh possesses some ability, but I believe it’s a correct decision to let him go.

Andy Webster

The Scottish defender has put in some good performances in his time at Coventry City, but with age his legs seemed to have given up on him and his performances subsequently dipped. I do feel that he did receive a lot of unwarranted criticism as he was blamed for nearly every goal that was conceded – I even remember one game where some bloke behind me blamed it on Webster and he wasn’t even playing!

I did say in my previous post though that I would get rid of him, and i believe that Mowbray has made the right decision again. He’d arguably be a good body to have in and around the dressing room as his knowledge could help develop the youngsters, but I think his playing days are over. Personally, I would have offered him a coaching role, but we’ll see…maybe he feels he has another year or two left in him.

Adam Barton

I am one of the few admirers of Adam Barton, but with the way Mowbray wants to play football I can understand his reasoning for parting company with the Irish midfielder. Let’s face it, he doesn’t particularly fit in with the attacking style of play Mogga wants to implement. One thing I do admire about Barton though is his professionalism, he was out of the team for months but he kept his head down and clawed his way back in to the side, putting in some competent displays at the tail-end of the season once he was reinstated.

Within my previous post discussing who I would retain/release, I said I would keep him at the club. However, with Mowbray’s knowledge I believe he will replace him with better quality. Saying this, Barton is a footballer who is very gifted technically – he just doesn’t have the physique or the fight for the third tier of football. Like I said though, I would’ve liked him in the squad, but I probably would have used him to come off the bench and settle a game down.

Al Bangura

I found the signing of the former Watford man strange in the first place, and he was unable to make a first team appearance at the club. I don’t have a lot to write about this one, but Mowbray is probably correct to get rid if he deems him as surplus to requirements. He didn’t exactly stand out for the under 21’s either.

Simeon Jackson

There’s no denying that the Canadian’s impact had been very dissapointing and he only managed to score 3 goals in 26 appearances, albeit most of them as a substitute. He’s another one of these players that frustrates me as he clearly has an abundance of quality; you don’t get to the Premier League for no reason. I think that with a run in the side and with a consistent strike partner, he could have scored goals next season.

He was in and out of the team this year as Pressley shuffled his pack most weeks in desperation. Jackson was forced to play out wide on numerous occasions, and when he did play through the centre he was playing next to a different partner each game. I would have liked him to have one more season at the club, but again, i’ll trust Mowbray to bring someone better in.

Shaun Miller

When the striker joined in the summer I thought “great signing”, but he turned out to be another that under performed. Despite Pressley stating he was one of the best finishers he’d seen, he barely featured for the Sky Blues before being loaned out to Crawley  and League Two outfit, York City respectively.

He featured 12 times for City scoring just a single goal, and he never really looked to be as promising as he initially seemed. Despite our faltering attack failing to score goals all season, we looked to the loan market to find that goal scorer and he was forced to play under 21 football. It’s another right call by Mowbray.

Frank Nouble

Now this man, he frustrates me the most! He showed in some games that he has all of the attributes needed to be a top player, but one thing he does lack is consistency. He’d go from putting in a mind-blowing performance whereby he runs defenders ragged one week , to then not turning up the next, which was truly disappointing. In the time he was on loan from Ipswich he looked a real handful, but once he made the switch permanent the wheels came off.

In my previous post I opted to say I’d retain in the hope that Mowbray could get the best out of him, but it wasn’t to be. The manager clearly believes he isn’t the man to lead the line and I have no arguments really. It’s likely that he’ll go and have a great campaign next term now and we’ll realise that he is a class act, but he didn’t show it enough here where it mattered.

Blair Turgott

We didn’t get to see much of the former West Ham man either but he did show flashes of brilliance in his short time here. He was limited to substitute cameos, but when he was introduced his energy and desire to burst forward got bums off seats and I’m surprised Mowbray has let him go. I would have kept him, but Mogga seemed to have issues with his attitude so maybe it’s for the best that he moves on…

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Simon K says:

    I was surprised that Tudgay wasnt released too, but when fit he can lead the line and score goals at this level he just needs a pacy striker to play off him. Will be interesting to see who Mogga brings in now given his contacts within the game. We certainly need a centre back, midfielder and wide players otherwise it wont matter who plays up front they will receive no service!

  2. hinckley skyblue says:

    I agree with Mowbrays decisions, monies going to be really tight so we cant afford any baggage at all,so none of if or buts have been kept so most of the new team will be Mowbrays buys or loans, cant wait for the new season to get going.
    pusb

  3. James says:

    Not many surprises for me on who he has let go, Although I do agree with you Matty that I felt Barton had done enough to get at least another year, we need a striker who can tear defences apart and have a clinical finish, Goals win games and we have certainly missed the likes of Mcoldrick and Wilson and I still feel Gary Mac could have done a job for us as well. Not a massive fan off his altitude, However Leon Clarke could easily do a job for us and I could see him forming a good attack line with Maddison . Would love to see Ward back if possible and Pennington think they have been great loan signings !!

Leave a Reply

